Hidden Sources

Hi lovelies! Happy Thursday– we are so close to the weekend! Do you have any fun plans on tap? On Saturday I’m taking my Grandma shopping for an outfit for my brother’s wedding which should be really fun! I’m always up for a girls shopping trip and hopefully we can find just what my Grandma is looking for! Health wise I’ve been pretty up and down lately but today I want to share with you something I’ve been realizing- the hidden sources of gluten. We all know the common sources- pasta, bread, etc but sometimes gluten is put in products that you wouldn’t even guess it was there! H0pefully this list will serve as a help to those dealing with gluten-sensitivities or celiac, and as an interesting realization to the rest of you about the ingredients that are often in our food!

  • Tea
Check out the bottom right corner...

Check out the bottom right corner…

A lot of people with gluten sensitivities have issues with coffee or caffeine so we become big tea drinkers. Well, who would think that a simple cup of herbal tea could be causing your unexplained stomach pains?! As you can see above, some teas are made with barley which is not gluten-free. Unfortunately, not all companies label their tea but I always try to only drink tea that is labeled as such. One of my favorites is Zhena’s Gypsy Tea because they have such unique herbal tea flavors like Caramel Chai! Also, David’s Tea is huge right now in SF and I’m happy to report that all of their teas are gluten-free but they can’t guarantee there isn’t cross-contamination. If you are dairy-free like I am, be sure to check before you sip as many of their chocolate and caramel teas contain dairy.

  • Lunch Meat

3-7-2013 9-40-28 AM

As a gluten-free girl on the go, sometimes lunch meat is a great quick option when I’m in need of a little protein. However, it’s important to check that your lunch meat is labeled gluten-free because unfortunately quite a few out there contain some very tricky wording but ultimately are not gluten-free. (The same goes for frozen chicken, almost all I’ve seen contain wheat!) But Boar’s Head is a great option that is found in most delis and they have a variety of different kinds to spice it up from being boring deli meat. My current fave is their Everroast chicken that seriously tastes like chicken soup but in deli meat form… it’s delicious!

  • Over-the-Counter Medicine
3-7-2013 9-50-28 AM

NOT gluten-free!

Let’s face it, when you aren’t feeling well, the last thing you want to do is scour a medicine bottle to see if it contains gluten. Unfortunately, the shocking truth is that so many do! I have been taking Advil Liqui-gels for years for my headaches and migraines as Tylenol has never really worked for me and I can’t always take my migraine medicine (or else I’ll be down for the count for 12 hours.) So imagine my shock when I recently found out that Advil Liqui-Gels and Advil Migraine contain a wheat derivative! As far as I know, the non-gel caps do not contain gluten so I imagine it’s something to do with the gel coating. I’m not sure how much this gluten affects people, but it’s an important one to know!

There are so many more big sources so I think I’ll continue this in a future post series!

Questions:

-Do you know of any hidden sources of gluten?

-Were you surprised by any of the above?

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Hidden Sources

  1. Wow I had no idea about any of these!! Who would have known?! Thanks for this post 🙂 Also I love Boar’s head meat and want to try that everroast chicken. Yumm!!

  2. I was actually just at Celestial Seasonings for a tour, and they had a handy list of their products which contain gluten (there were actually only a few.). it seems like they do label all their products as gluten-free or contains gluten, which is awesome.

  3. Oh my goodness, I had no idea that Advil liqui-gels contain a wheat derivative! Fortunately I have none in my house right now, but I’m pretty sure I’ve taken them a few times over the past few years. Also, I was SO bummed when I learned that Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride contains gluten, as it’s one of my favorite Celestial Seasonings flavors. The good news is that I’ve found a BUNCH of David’s Teas that I prefer much more (have you tried Banana Nut Bread?).

    I hope you have a wonderful time wedding dress shopping with your grandma today! Hugs! xoxo ❤

  4. How does frozen chicken contain wheat!?!?! I’m so confused by gluten and manufacturing facilities. Seems like so much to keep track of… Idea: Combine the RedLaser barcode scanning app with a GF/DF/Nuts/Vegan/Vegetarian/etc database and roll it up into a handy smartphone app to easily check products that might not label clearly!

  5. This list is so true! I definitely need to more careful about my tea. I had bad experiences since it took me awhile to find out about the pain relievers. Ekkk. Another source of “hidden gluten” is make-up & lotions. I couldn’t figure out why my skin was so bad and it turns out my lotion had gluten in it.

  6. Pingback: Gluten-Free Chicken Pho | Glitz Glam Gluten-Free

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s